Is Sabudana Vegetarian or Non-vegetarian?

Loading...
PROCESS OF MAKING YOUR FAVORITE Sabudana 
(साबूदाना ) 
Sabudana is a popular food eaten during fasting and religious events … 
Well read the attached story and then decide yourself if sabudana is vegetarian or non-vegetarian!!

Loading...

In Tamil Nadu India, in Salem area on the road from Salem to Coimbatore there are many Sabudana factories. We start getting terribly bad smell when we were about 2 kms away from the factories. 

Sabudana is made by root like sweet potato. Kerala has this root each weighing about 6kgs. Factory owners buy these roots in bulk during season, make it to pulp and put it in pits of about 40ft x 25ft. Pits are in open ground and the pulp is allowed to rot for several months. Thousands of tons of roots rot in pits. There are huge electric bulbs throughout the night where millions of insects fall in the pits.
  

While pulp is rotting water is added everyday due to which 2″ long white color eel is automatically born like pests are born automatically in gutter. The walls of pits are covered by millions of eels and factory owners with the help of machine crush the pulp with the eels which also become paste. This action is repeated many times during 5-6 months.  

The pulp is thus ready and millions & millions of pests and insects crushed and pasted together. This paste is then passed through round mesh and made into small balls and then polished. This is sabudana.

Now I know why many people don’t eat sabudana treating this as non-vegetarian. 
Please reveal this truth of sabudana to your friends and family and stop them from eating this miserable food on sacred days of fasting. 

Please Share .

Loading...
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse

Next post:

Previous post: